Bodily Injury Liability is not required in Florida normally for a driver even though it is advisable to have as part of your auto insurance coverages.
As we mentioned Bodily Injury Liability (BI) is not usually required in Florida as part of basic minimum auto insurance coverage but it can be required if you are at-fault in an accident and cause injury. Some CarInsurance.com carriers do not sell a policy without Bodily Injury Liability coverage included.
The Florida Financial Responsibility Law requires that any person at fault in a crash resulting in bodily injury and property damage to others must have in effect at the time of the crash full liability insurance coverage. This coverage includes minimum limits of bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person, $20,000 per crash, $10,000 property damage liability per crash.
There is also a new section to the Florida Statutes that gives minimum requirements for BI under certain circumstances. Section 324.023 is titled financial responsibility for bodily injury or death. Here it states:
In addition to any other financial responsibility required by law, every owner or operator of a motor vehicle that is required to be registered in this state, or that is located within this state, and who, regardless of adjudication of guilt, has been found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of driving under the influence under s. 316.193 after October 1, 2007, shall, by one of the methods established in s. 324.031(1), (2), or (3), establish and maintain the ability to respond in damages for liability on account of accidents arising out of the use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $100,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, one person in any one crash and, subject to such limits for one person, in the amount of $300,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one crash and in the amount of $50,000 because of property damage in any one crash. If the owner or operator chooses to establish and maintain such ability by posting a bond or furnishing a certificate of deposit pursuant to s. 324.031(2) or (3), such bond or certificate of deposit must be in an amount not less than $350,000. Such higher limits must be carried for a minimum period of 3 years. If the owner or operator has not been convicted of driving under the influence or a felony traffic offense for a period of 3 years from the date of reinstatement of driving privileges for a violation of s. 316.193, the owner or operator shall be exempt from this section.