Alabama Code 32-6-1 requires drivers to be licensed in Alabama. Subsection (a) states that every person, except those specifically exempted by statutory enactment, shall procure a driver's license before driving a motor vehicle upon the highways of this state.
AL Code 32-6-18 gives the penalties for driving without a valid license in Alabama. Here it states:
(a) Any person of whom a driver's license is required, who drives a motor vehicle on a public highway in this state without first having complied with this article or the rules and regulations promulgated hereunder shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less than ten dollars ($10) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100), to be fixed in the discretion of the judge trying the case. In addition to all fines, fees, costs, and punishments prescribed by law, there shall be imposed or assessed an additional penalty of fifty dollars ($50). This additional penalty of fifty dollars ($50) imposed pursuant to this subsection shall be assessed in all criminal and quasi-criminal proceedings in municipal, district, and circuit courts, including, but not limited to, final bond forfeitures, municipal ordinance violations wherein the defendant is adjudged guilty or pleads guilty, and in all juvenile delinquency and youthful offender adjudications.
(b) Any person who willfully makes a false statement under oath in an application for driver's license or for a renewal thereof shall be guilty of perjury and shall be punished as now provided by law.
(c) Any person who willfully conceals or withholds a material fact in an application for a driver's license or renewal thereof with intent to obtain the license by fraud shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100), and may be imprisoned at hard labor for the county not to exceed 12 months, to be fixed in the discretion of the court trying the case.
(d) Any person who violates this article for which no fixed punishment is prescribed or who violates any rule or regulation promulgated as herein authorized shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100).
It would appear that a ticket for driving without a license in Alabama will come with a fine of around $100 plus an extra $50 fee. The amount for this citation should be within the parameters set by of the state however the exact cost of a ticket will vary from one jurisdiction to the next. If you have received a citation for being an unlicensed driver then the court listed on the citation should be contacted for specific information on the penalties you are facing.
For a free auto insurance quote for Alabama follow this link.