As you are likely aware the state of Indiana requires all car owners to have basic liability coverages of Bodily Injury and Property Damage on the vehicle, the minimum auto insurance coverage required is noted as 25/50/10. This means $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 for all injured parties in an accident, and coverage of $10,000 for property damage from one incident.
Indiana Legislative Code 9-25-4-1 states that a person in Indiana may not register or operate a motor vehicle if financial responsibility (such as auto insurance) is not in effect for the vehicle. The operator of a vehicle that is without insurance in Indiana is subject to a 90 day license suspension or 1 year suspension if this is a repeat violation of the FR law within 3 years.
In order to obtain a reinstatement of the license, the person must pay a reinstatement fee of $150, $225, or $300 depending on whether it is a first, second or subsequent offense for this violation.
Driving without insurance in Indiana is a Class A infraction, unless you have had prior convictions for this violation then it is considered a Class C misdemeanor. Beyond getting your license suspended, the driver of an uninsured vehicle could also be assessed points according to IC 9-25-8-5. The number of points assessed shall be determined by the point study committee based on an evaluation of the situation.
So you will at least be fined and subject to a license suspension due to driving without insurance in Indiana. Since you were also in an accident normally you would be required to make restitution with the person that you caused damage to if you were at fault.
For more information on penalties for driving without insurance in Indiana contact the IN Bureau of Motor Vehicles.