According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) if you have recently moved to NJ, you must transfer your out-of-state license within 60 days of your move or before your current license expires, whichever occurs first.
Also under New Jersey law, you must transfer your vehicle title (with or without a lien) within 60 days. To do this:
- Visit your local MVC Agency with your original title
- If your vehicle is financed, you will have to complete an application at an Agency to release the title. The lien holder will then send the title to the Agency and you will be notified when you can return to continue the process
- Complete an application for Certificate of Ownership
- Pay the transfer title fee:
- $20 for standard vehicle
- $40 for financed vehicle with one lien
- $60 for a financed vehicle with two liens
If you don't have a lien, you will be issued a receipt that you will need to keep to apply for your registration and receive your plates
If you do not change your driver's license within the required 60 days or before your current Pennsylvania driver's license expires and you are stopped by law enforcement then you would be cited for driving without a valid license which normally comes with a fine.
The NJ Statutes that discuss the licensing of drivers is 39:3-10. Also there is section 39:3-17.1 of the New Jersey Statutes which is titled Reciprocal driver license, registration of new residents' vehicles required; violations, fines, impoundment.
Under section 1a of this portion of NJ law it states specifically that any person who becomes a resident of this State and who immediately prior thereto was authorized to operate and drive a motor vehicle or motor vehicles in this State as a nonresident pursuant to R.S.39:3-15 and R.S.39:3-17, shall not lose his right to so operate and drive such motor vehicle or motor vehicles by becoming a resident of this State, but such right shall continue to be in full force and effect for 60 days, unless a longer period of reciprocity is otherwise provided by law, after the establishment of his residence in this State in the same manner and to the same extent as though he were a nonresident.
Subsection b goes on to say that any person who becomes a resident of this State and who immediately prior thereto was authorized to operate and drive a motor vehicle or motor vehicles in this State as a nonresident pursuant to R.S.39:3-15 and R.S.39:3-17, shall register any vehicle operated on the public highways of this State within 60 days of so becoming a resident of New Jersey, pursuant to R.S.39:3-4 or section 2 of P.L.1968, c.439 (C.39:3-8.1).
And subsection c states that any person who violates subsection b. of this section is subject to a fine of not more than $250 for a first offense and not more than $500 for a second or subsequent offense.
If you want to get more information on these NJ Statutes or on how to change over your Pennsylvania license and PA motor vehicle registration contact the New Jersey MVC directly. Click here to get auto insurance quotes online for NJ.