North Carolina has minimum requirements of liability auto insurance for private passenger vehicles. These minimums limits are $30,000 for bodily injury (BI) for one person; $60,000 bodily injury for two or more people and $25,000 property damage (PD). North Carolina law requires each company to notify DMV upon the insurance of a new policy and when coverage has been cancelled.
If there is a break in car insurance coverage, you must re-certify with the correct insurance information and submit payment of $50.00 within 10 days from the date of the letter (notifying you that the NC DMV has been alerted to the uninsured status of your vehicle) in order to retain your license plate. Failure to respond within the required time can result in the loss of your license plate for 30 days.
In order to re-license after 30 days, you must provide proof of insurance coverage Form FS-1 (which you can obtain from your insurance agent), $50.00 restoration fee, $50.00 service fee (if a plate pick up order is issued) and the appropriate license plate fee.
If you are found driving without insurance or are involved in an accident without insurance the penalties can be harsher, including the suspension of your driver's license and 3 points on your driving record. For more information on the penalties you can read through the NC General Statutes Chapter 20, Article 9A, the Motor Vehicle Safety and Financial Responsibility Act and also contact the court listed on your citation if you were ticketed for this offense.
So penalties for driving a motor vehicle without at least the NC required minimum insurance on it can include fines, losing your license plate and having your driver's license suspended. If you have been driving without car insurance, you should try to acquire auto insurance for your vehicle as soon as possible. You can get an inexpensive car insurance quote here.