The FS-1 is a document used in North Carolina. It is a simple form provided by insurance companies in this state.
In other states, this type of form is labeled as a certificate of insurance. In North Carolina, a certificate of insurance (FS-1) form, can be obtained from an insurance company to show proof of coverage. You must receive it from a company that is licensed to do business in North Carolina. The North Carolina Department of Transportation (DOT) states that when titling or registering your vehicle in North Carolina you must show proof of insurance.
Acceptable proofs of insurance include:
- Owner provides insurance company name and policy number (Self Certification), or
- A Certificate of Insurance (FS-1), obtained from an insurance company that is licensed to do business in North Carolina.
The minimum requirements of liability insurance for a private passenger vehicle are $30,000 for bodily injury for one person; $60,000 bodily injury for two or more people and $25,000 property damage. this is written as 30/60/25. Uninsured motorist bodily injury of 30/60 and uninsured motorist property damage of $25,000 is also required as part of a car insurance policy.
North Carolina law requires each car insurance company to notify the DMV when coverage has been cancelled. So, penalties can be handed out if the DMV finds that you had a policy canceled and do not have a new policy starting.
To provide proof of insurance coverage to the DMV you can speak with your car insurance agent to obtain the FS-1 form. We can provide you with state car insurance rates for North Carolina so you can obtain the policy you need and show proof of coverage.