If you have recently moved to Massachusetts, you must obtain a valid Massachusetts license upon becoming a resident. The MA RMV gives detailed information on how to convert an out of state license, so your Florida license, to a Massachusetts driver's license. This includes fees, testing requirements, etc. The RMV also gives more information on how they process out of state conversions for a vehicle, the forms, fees, etc that must be filled out and paid to transfer your car's title and registration from FL to MA.
To convert your Florida registration to Massachusetts registration there are several steps that the Registry of Motor Vehicles lists on its site. One is that you must go to a licensed Massachusetts insurance agent to obtain an active insurance policy and have the agent complete, stamp and sign an Application for Registration and Title (RMV-1).
Massachusetts state law requires a compulsory minimum amount of auto insurance. Part of this mandatory car insurance is bodily injury (BI) liability coverage of a minimum of $20,000 per person for a total of $40,000 per accident and property damage (PD) liability coverage of a minimum of $5000. This coverage is commonly referred to as 20/40/5 coverage.
Another required element of MA auto insurance is Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Massachusetts state law requires a minimum Personal Injury Protection coverage of $8,000. This coverage pays for replacement services and 75% of any lost wages due to an accident. PIP coverage pays for medical expenses in excess of $2000 that are not paid for by your own medical insurer.
A forth element of a MA compulsory insurance is uninsured motorist or bodily injury caused by an uninsured auto. A minimum of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident is required. This coverage only pays for injuries and not for property damage caused by an uninsured or unidentified (hit and run) driver.
There are eight optional coverages available in Massachusetts and they are: optional bodily injury to others, medical payments, collision, limited collision, comprehensive, substitute transportation, towing and labor and bodily injury caused by an under insured auto.
As for the time period in which to obtain a MA driver's license and register your cars the MA Driver's Manual states that once you have established residence in Massachusetts, you must obtain a MA driver's license to retain your driving privileges, there is no grace period. The same is also said for registering your vehicle, again no grace period once you have established residency. Having a Massachusetts bank account or a utility bill is enough to show MA residency.
To find out more about Massachusetts mandatory and optional auto insurance coverages and get a car insurance quote , click here. You can also get more detailed information the MA Division of Insurance has more information on both the required and optional auto insurance coverages one can purchase in this state.