The Florida driver's handbook does not state how long moving violations stay on a driver's motor vehicle record (MVR). It does mention that points which are placed on your Florida driver's license due to traffic violations stay on your record and are counted against you for 3 years for insurance purposes. Points though can continue to accumulate on your record beyond those 3 years though so the state can keep track and impose penalties if necessary.
It is also mentioned that before you renew your license, your driving record is checked. If you have had no convictions for driving violations in the past three years, or suspension/revocation/disqualification free record for the past seven years, you will be issued a six-year license.
The representative at FL HSMV that we contacted stated that Section 257.26, Florida Statutes, authorizes this department to establish and maintain the management of records. Furthermore, convictions reflecting point assessments remain on a customer's complete driver history record for a period of 10 years from the date of conviction. However, serious convictions (DUI, DUI/Manslaughter, Vehicular Homicide, etc.) will remain on the record for 75 years.
For individuals who have a CDL, if they are issued a traffic citation while operating their personal vehicle, the 10 or 75 year retention period is the same. However, if the CDL holder is operating a CMV and receives a traffic citation for a violation resulting in personal injury or speeding 15 mph over posted speed, these violations remain on the record for 55 years.
According to the FL Department of Financial Services (FLDFS), insurance companies are permitted to consider drivers who have had an accident or received convictions for driving violations as higher risks.
Insurance carriers in Florida may charge drivers with accidents and violation convictions on their driving record higher rates for automobile insurance than those with driving records free of accidents and violations. Each insurance company has underwriting guidelines to determine what kind and how many accidents or violations during a specified period constitute a high-risk driver.
So while some states may limit the "look back period" Florida does not appear to do so and allows insurance companies to determine their own period of time to rates on accidents and violations. In general most insurance providers have their own internal guidelines for a look back period of 3, 5 or 7 years
Get online car insurance for Florida here.