Since 2001 New York has prohibited drivers from talking on hand-held devices while operating a motor vehicle. You may legally use a hand-held cell phone or mobile device while driving only when you call 911 or contact medical, fire or police help in an emergency.
Due to these New York cell phone laws you can be cited by law enforcement for using a hand-held cell phone or mobile device while driving in NYS. At last we heard a citation for this offense comes with a maximum fine of $100 and mandatory surcharges of $50.
According to the New York DMV when you receive a ticket for this violation, it is not considered a probationary license violation and the DMV does not assign any violation points to the driver's record.
When the law first went into affect New York courts allowed violators to have their cell phone tickets dismissed if they gave the judge a receipt showing they bought a hands-free cell phone system so if you were ticketed for this offense you may see if the court would allow this. Since the law has been in existence for several years now the court may not dismiss it and thus require you to pay the fine and surcharge.