Question: I got a speeding ticket for going 80+ in California, specifically on the 118 east near Chatsworth. How much would this ticket probably cost? And will I be eligible for attending traffic school to have the point taken off?
Answer: It appears you were cited for speeding under California vehicle code section 22349. According to the CA uniform bail schedule if this area of the 118 highway near Chatsworth, CA is has a speed limit of 65 mph then the fine will be around $250 to $380. You said you were going over 80 mph so without knowing the exact mph over the limit you were cited for we can only tell you that the uniform fine schedule states that the normal fine for speeding 16 to 25 mph over the limit in a 65 mph zone is $266 and for 26 or more mph over the limit it is $380.
If this area of the 118 is only a 55 mph zone then going 80 would be more than 25 mph over the posted speed limit and the fine should be around $380. The uniform bail schedule that the state of California puts out is only a guide and the jurisdiction in which you were cited can determine the exact fine amount.
The uniform bail schedule that we obtained our fine information from notes that it should only serve as a guideline for the imposition of a fine as all or a portion of the penalty for a first conviction of a listed offense where a fine is used as all or a portion of the penalty for such offense.
It also notes that unless otherwise shown, the maximum penalties for the listed offenses are six months in the county jail or a fine of $1,000, or both. The penalty amounts are intended to be used to provide standard fine amounts for a first-offense conviction of a violation shown where a fine is used as all or a portion of the sentence imposed.
Since the area of Chatsworth is in Los Angeles County, it is likely that county's courthouse that you should contact to find out what your fine amount will be and if you are eligible for traffic school. Many California counties allow you to pay your fine and request traffic school online. LA County is one such jurisdiction that allows this. You may need to call to see if you are eligible for traffic school. If you were ticketed for exceeding the speed limit by 25 mph or more, we have heard that you are not eligible for traffic school to dismiss the ticket.
You may also not be eligible for traffic school in California if you have recently taken traffic school for another offense. California Vehicle Code Section 1808.7 mandates that only one citation in an eighteen (18) month period be masked from public view on your driving record. The eighteen (18) month period is calculated from citation/violation date, not class attendance date.
If you cannot take traffic school then this speeding offense as well as 1 point will be placed on your CA DMV driving record. This would allow your insurance company to possibly raise your rates since they will see it on your MVR the next time they pull your driving history. Compare insurance companies for the lowest cost premiums.