According to the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) site notes that a first-time offender convicted of drunk driving faces:
- Up to 93 days in jail
- Up to a $500 fine
- Up to 360 hours of community service
- Up to 6 points on a driver's license
- Up to 180 days with a suspended license, with a restricted license possible after 30 days
Convicted drunk drivers will also be subject to a $1,000 penalty that is included in the driver responsibility program. The $1,000 penalty will be imposed for two consecutive years. Drivers may still be arrested and charged with impaired driving, however, the law no longer has a blood alcohol content associated with impaired. Those convicted of impaired driving face an additional $500 penalty assessed for two consecutive years.
In Michigan alcohol violations, such as driving under the influence or operated under the influence of liquor, remains on your record for a minimum of 10 years and then at that point it is no longer a part of the record. As for insurance rates, typically they will be affected for at least 3 years after you have been convicted of a DUI/OUIL.
According to the Michigan Financial and Insurance services Insurance Eligibility fact sheet insurance companies can turn you down for auto insurance if within the past 3 years you have been found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Update:DUI offenses used to be looked at by the state for 10 years as their "look back" period for determining what is considered a second or subsequent conviction for a DUI now a conviction for a DUI is kept on a Michigan driver's record for the driver's life time.
The state of Michigan decided Repeat Offender laws require tough sanctions for motorists convicted of two or more alcohol or drug related offenses within seven years and three or more alcohol or drug related offenses within 10 years. However, if a third or subsequent drunken or drugged driving violation occurred more than 10 years after any previous convictions, the court had to count the current violation as a first offense when considering criminal sanctions.
Because of a concern that chronic repeat offenders could face lighter sentences simply because more than 10 years had passed since their last conviction, the state enacted Heidi's Law.Heidi's Law requires felony penalties for a third or subsequent drunken or drugged driving offense regardless of when prior offenses occurred. It also requires the Department of State to maintain certain drunken or drugged driving violations on a driver's record for life.
Under Heidi's Law, licensing and plate sanctions are treated as a first offense for motorists with three or more drunken or drugged driving convictions if more than 10 years has elapsed since the last violation. Vehicle sanctions include plate confiscation, vehicle forfeiture, and immobilization. Licensing sanctions are restrictions, suspensions, and revocations.