According to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) after a conviction of a traffic offense, the court will forward notice of that conviction to this state agency and points may be assessed.
On the DDS points list an illegal U-turn is not specifically listed and thus would appear to fall under the heading of "all other moving violations" which is assigned 3 points.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services states that according to GA Code Section 40-5-57, points related to moving violation convictions, such as the 3 points assessed for an illegal U-turn, remain on your driving record for 24 months (2 years).
The DDS also noted that the actual violation remain on your record indefinitely. So if you are convicted of making an illegal U-turn in GA then the conviction for a will remain on your driving record permanently.
To get information on the cost of your fine for your illegal U-turn citation, contact the court listed on your ticket.
For online car insurance quotes follow this link.