Question: I was wondering what is the fine for a 1110A Disobeyed Traffic Control Device violation is for New York (upstate)?
Answer: From our research we found that it appears that usual fine for a ticket for 1110(a) disobeying a traffic signal device, is between $100 and $150. There are also surcharges the state adds to this which we found normally to be around $50.
Subsection a of section 110 of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) states that every person shall obey the instructions of any official traffic-control device applicable to him placed in accordance with the provisions of this chapter, unless otherwise directed by a traffic or police officer, subject to the exceptions granted the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle in this title.
As you are likely aware there are minimum and maximum penalties that are established by New York law, and the judge presiding over the case will make the final determination of any penalty to be imposed. Questions regarding your fine amount and any other penalties should be referred to the court having jurisdiction over your specific case. This is normally the county or city court and should be listed on your ticket.
Usually, in New York, if you submit a written plea of guilty, you will be mailed a fine letter indicating the amount of the fine and the date that the fine must be paid. If instead you appear in court, the court should verbally advise you of the amount of the fine and the date that payment is due.
For example West Seneca Town Court states that their fine for failure to comply with traffic control device (1110(a)) is $100; however, this amount does not include any New York State mandated surcharges.
Another city court in New York noted that VTL 1110(a), which they define as unless you are driving an authorized emergency vehicle, you must follow the directions of all signs, signals, markings, and devices placed or erected by authority of a public body or official having jurisdiction for the purpose of regulating, warning or guiding traffic unless otherwise directed by a police officer, has a maximum fine amount of $150 plus surcharges. This court site also mentions if you are found guilty of this offense for a second time the fine amount can go up to $300.
Per the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, this offense also comes with two points being placed on your New York driving record.
To find out the fine amount the court in the jurisdiction you received your ticket has assigned to this offense contact the court listed on your traffic ticketf. If it affects your state car insurance rates you can contact us for inexpensive car insurance rate quotes. We offer multiple car insurance quotes from multiple car insurance providers.