Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753


See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.


I have a Indiana driver's license, though it is a conditional license. Can you tell me the stipulations. Thanks for the help.


We were unable to find much information on a conditional Indiana driver's license. The information we did find was from Section 9-24-2-3.1 of the Indiana Code (IC).

This section is titled Conditional license; termination and renewal; suspension and states that if a petitioner has a valid commercial driving license, the bureau shall not immediately suspend the driving license but indicate on the driver's record that the person has a conditional license to operate a motor vehicle to and from the person's place of employment and in the course of the person's employment.

Subsection (b) goes on to say that a conditional license is valid for thirty (30) days from the date of the notice sent by the bureau. If the person obtains an amended license within the thirty (30) days, the person may continue to operate a motor vehicle on the conditional license beyond the thirty (30) day period. And furthermore if the person does not obtain an amended license within the thirty (30) day period, the bureau shall suspend the person's license.

As you can see none of the restrictions or stipulations for this type of license were listed. There are other types of licenses that the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) issue and perhaps you have one of these in the form of a probationary or hardship license.

In Indiana if you are younger than 18 years of age when you receive your driver license, your license is considered probationary. If you have a probationary driver license, you may drive alone. However, you must observe the following regulations regarding passengers:

  • If there are passengers of any age in your vehicle during the first 90 days that you hold your driver license, an individual 21 years of age or older with a valid driver license must be seated in your vehicle's front passenger seat.
  • If there are passengers in your vehicle, every occupant must wear a seat belt.

If you have a probationary license, you must comply with state and local curfew laws. Drivers under the age of 18 are not permitted to drive after 1 a.m. on Fridays and Saturdays, or after 11 p.m. on Sunday through Thursday, unless the following conditions apply:

  • The probationary driver is accompanied by a parent, guardian or custodian, or an adult designated by a parent, guardian or custodian;
  • The probationary driver is going to or returning from a job, school, religious activity, an activity involving the exercise of civil rights, or an activity sponsored by a governmental or non-profit entity.

The BMV also mentions the following probationary license types:

  • DUI probationary license
  • Bureau-issued hardship license
  • HTV (habitual traffic violator) probationary license
  • Interlock device license
  • HTV life probationary license
  • Child support hardship license
  • Court issued hardship license

IC 9-24-15-2 speaks about a hardship license. Here it says if an individual's driving license has been suspended under Indiana motor vehicle law; and because of the nature of the individual's employment the suspension would work an undue hardship and burden upon the individual's family or dependents; the individual may file a verified petition for a restricted driving permit for the sole purpose of driving to and from work and in the course of employment during the period of the driving license suspension.

There is another type of hardship license (IC 9-24-15-6.7) available to those whose driving license or permit is suspended and that motorist can prove to the satisfaction of the court that public transportation is unavailable for travel by them:

  1. to and from the petitioner's regular place of employment;
  2. in the course of the petitioner's regular employment;
  3. to and from the petitioner's place of worship; or
  4. to participate in parenting time with the petitioner's children consistent with a court order granting parenting time;

The court may grant a petition for a restricted driving permit filed under this chapter of IN law.

A restricted driving permit issued by the BMV under this section of law must specify that the restricted driving permit is valid only for purposes of driving under the conditions described above.

If you do have this type of restricted hardship license and operate a motor vehicle in violation of the terms, limitations, or restrictions set out in the restricted driving permit; and during the period of suspension of the person's current driving license; commits a Class B misdemeanor there are major consequences.

The IN BMV would, upon receipt of notice of a conviction for a violation of this section, do the following:

  1. Revoke the restricted driving permit.
  2. Suspend the person's current driving license for two (2) years in addition to the original existing period of suspension. In addition, the bureau may not issue another restricted driving permit to the person during the original existing or additional period of suspension.

We hope that his information may help you understand your Indiana conditional license or at least understand that there are several types of restricted permits or licenses available in Indiana depending upon a person's situation.

Most hardship or restricted licenses will only allow you to drive to specific locations that you clear with the BMV, such as your workplace and home, however conditions and restrictions do differ so you should really contact the IN BMV to determine where you are allowed to drive with your type of license. The BMV should be able to advise you to the rules associated with your license so that you understand and can abide by them.


Add Comment

Leave a Comment
0 Responses to "I have a Indiana driver's license, though it is a conditional license. Can you tell me the stipulations. Thanks for the help."