As you are likely aware both North Carolina and South Carolina are members of the Drivers License Compact (DLC) and thus if you are convicted of the NC speeding offense the NC courts will inform the DMV of your home state.
The NC Department of Transportation (NC DOT) site notes that in their state your driving privilege will be revoked for at least 30 days if you are convicted of driving any vehicle more than 15 mph over the speed limit, if you are driving at a speed higher than 55 mph.
Your driver's license will be taken for 60 days if you are convicted of a second charge of speeding over 55 mph and more than 15 mph above the speed limit within one year; or speeding plus reckless driving on the same occasion.
The NC DMV can also suspend your license for the following:
- Two convictions of speeding over 55 mph within a 12 month period;
- One conviction of speeding over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless driving within a 12 month period;
- A conviction of willful racing with another motor vehicle, whether it is pre-arranged or spontaneous.
- A suspended court sentence or part of a sentence mandating that you must not operate a motor vehicle for a specified period of time; and/or
- A conviction for speeding over 75 mph.
In cases like the above, the DMV may suspend your driving privilege as soon as it receives the conviction report from the court. If your driving privilege is revoked, you may have the right to a hearing in the judicial district where you reside. To request a hearing, call or write to the DMV in Raleigh. You will be notified by mail of the time and place for the hearing. At the hearing you may state any facts that you think should entitle you to driving privileges or to a reduction of the suspension period.
So it would appear that your license would be revoked or suspended for 30 days in North Carolina if you are convicted of this 25 mph over the speed limit citation. Whether this would cause you any issues with your license in your home state of South Carolina depends upon their laws.
The South Carolina Motor Vehicle Code allows for out of state traffic violation convictions to be recorded against the SC licensed driver if the violation matches up to a violation in South Carolina. A speeding infraction for 25 mph or above the posted limits is 6 points in South Carolina.
To find out more about the penalties you could receive in both NC and SC contact the court listed on your NC citation and the SC DMV. The traffic court in North Carolina should be able to tell you the fine amount, if your driving privileges in NC will be revoked, etc.