In Georgia if you are cited for driving without insurance it is an offense for which you are required to make a court appearance. The GA Driver Department of Driver Services (DDS) notes that a conviction for driving without insurance comes with a 60/90-day suspension as a part of the penalties that can be handed down.
Georgia Code 40-6-10 deals with those that drive without insurance and is titled Insurance requirements for operation of motor vehicles generally.
This section of GA law states that any person who fails to comply with the Georgia insurance requirements for operation of motor vehicles shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or both.
The Georgia code clearly states that an owner or any other person who knowingly operates or knowingly authorizes another to operate a motor vehicle without effective insurance on such vehicle or without an approved plan of self-insurance shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or both.
Depending upon how long your auto insurance has been expired you may also have your car's registration suspended in GA as a penalty as well.
If you were cited for driving with without car insurance in the state of Georgia you can get information on the penalties you will incur by contacting the court listed on the ticket and / or a GA DDS office.