Normally after a DUI conviction in California one must file and maintain a SR-22 for three (3) years. The amount of time the CA SR22 must be carried by a motorist may differ depending upon their conviction and if there were other issues involved in the case, such as driving without insurance.
If you are required to hold a SR22 due to a DUI in California contact the CA Department of Motor Vehicles to find out exactly how many years you are required to maintain it.
Normally if you had been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI) you would have to go through the following steps to get license reinstated:
- Complete a mandatory suspension period.
- Pay a reissue fee to DMV.
- File Proof of Financial Responsibility (California Insurance Proof Certificate, SR 22 )
- File a Notice of Completion Certificate (DL 101) (You must complete a Driving under the Influence [DUI] Treatment program.)
- Pay fines to the court.
If your suspension was due to the administrative license suspension program, known as "Admin Per Se" (APS), then you also normally would be required to file the SR22. The CA DMV lists that to reinstate your driving privilege after an APS suspension/revocation, you must:
- pay a $125 reissue fee to DMV. (Vehicle Code 14905)
- file proof of financial responsibility (i.e., a California Insurance Proof Certificate [SR 22], $35,000 cash deposit, surety bond, or self insurer certificate under VC 16430).
- maintain proof of financial responsibility for three years.
To get an auto insurance rate quote for California, click here.