We found that the Big Spring Texas municipal court lists the fine for an expired/no inspection sticker as $91.00. This is before state fees which can be $50 or a bit more and any other other court costs or local fees. So the fine for an expired Texas inspection sticker appears to run in excess of $150 in total however if you were cited for this offense you should contact the court listed on the citation to find out what your exact fine amount will be.
If your inspection sticker is less than 60 past the expiration date then you may be able to get the ticket dismissed if you follow certain steps.
Certain violations in TX are eligible for dismissal according to the laws of the State of Texas. All required documents and dismissal fees are due in the court office by the date located on the front of the citation. The court date and the actual number of days given to comply with renewing an expired violation or updating your information with the State may differ.
An expired motor vehicle inspection falls under Texas Transportation Code (TC 548.605) which allows that if you have received a violation for expired motor vehicle inspection, the citation can be dismissed only under these conditions:
- You must renew the inspection sticker within 20 business days from the date of the violation.
- The inspection cannot have been expired for more than 60 days.
- Pay the administrative fee of $20 to the Court with a copy of the inspection certificate. This will include the emissions portion of the paperwork, if you live in a county that requires this type of testing, showing the vehicle passed emissions.
The City of Arlington court states that if you have been charged with expired inspection or registration, the defect must have been remedied within 20 working days and not have been expired for more than 60 days. They also note that in requesting any of the above Dismissal Options, you must enter a Plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendere so this is likely true for any municipal court that dismisses a citation for having an expired inspection.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) may be able to give you more information on the penalties for an expired inspection as well information on the inspection process and where you can go to renew your sticker.
More articles from Penny Gusner
- State laws