There is no actual coverage that is called "full coverage" however many people use this term to refer to having the state minimum required liability coverages plus coverages to protect your own vehicle. Thus full coverage normally refers to insurance coverage that includes physical damages of collision and comprehensive which cover the damages caused to your own vehicle.
Generally, collision insurance covers damage to your automobile caused by collision with another object or by upset. Comprehensive insurance covers damage to your automobile that is from "other than collision" (OTC), so vandalism, theft, glass breakage, damage from hail or flooding.
Florida does not have a "full coverage" requirement though if you have a lien holder on your vehicle they will normally require that you carry the state minimum coverages plus collision and comprehensive coverages.
If you financed your car, and thus have a lien holder, then your loan or lease paperwork should mention what specific coverage they require you to carry on the vehicle until it is paid in full. For Florida this likely means property damage liability (PD), Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and collision and comprehensive. They may have limitations on what your deductible amount should be set at as well so read through your paperwork or speak to your lien holder to determine what exact coverage you are required to carry.
If your motor vehicle is registered in Florida, you must carry a minimum of
- $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) and
- $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL).
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) does not require you to carry bodily injury liability (BIL) in order to obtain vehicle registration. However, if you are involved in an accident in which the other party is injured, you will be penalized for not having this coverage.
The Florida Financial Responsibility Law requires that any person at fault in a crash resulting in bodily injury and property damage to others must have in effect at the time of the crash full liability insurance coverage. This coverage includes minimum limits of bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person, $20,000 per crash, $10,000 property damage liability per crash, and personal injury protection limits of $10,000 per person per crash.
So Florida does not have laws regarding full coverage, just the minimum auto insurance coverages you must have in place, which are property damage liability and PIP, however it is advisable to also have bodily injury liability since you can be penalized for being in an accident and not having this coverage if you injure someone else.
Financing companies can have their own rules regarding what coverages they require you to have on a vehicle, meaning full coverage of collision and comprehensive, this however is not the state mandating these coverages but your lien holder.
Get free auto insurance quotes for Florida here with us.