We cannot tell you what you can expect the judge to say about your reckless operation offense but we can tell you what penalties he may hand down to you if he finds you guilty of this charge in a Louisiana court.
The LA drivers' manual states that if you operate a vehicle in a criminally negligent or reckless manner, you are committing a crime punishable by a fine and jail. We found that reckless operation is listed under chapter 14, the criminal law section, of the Louisiana revised statutes. LA RS 14.99 is titled reckless operation of a vehicle and states:
Reckless operation of a vehicle is the operation of any motor vehicle, aircraft, vessel, or other means of conveyance in a criminally negligent or reckless manner.
Whoever commits the crime of reckless operation of a vehicle shall be fined not more than two hundred dollars, or imprisoned for not more than ninety days, or both.
On a second or subsequent conviction the offender shall be fined not less than twenty-five nor more than five hundred dollars, or imprisoned for not less than ten days nor more than six months, or both.
So the penalties set forth by Louisiana law for a conviction of reckless operation of a vehicle include a fine of up to $200 or jail time up to 90 days or both forms of punishment. To find out if there is a defense you can use or a way to reduce the charge you can try contacting a lawyer familiar with this part of LA law and can help you in court.
The Louisiana driver's manual also states that three (3) convictions of reckless driving committed within a 12 month period will result in the suspension of your license.
Get instant car insurance quotes for Shreveport or any other city in Louisiana here with us.