In Georgia, all speeding violations are considered misdemeanor offenses per Georgia Code 40-6-1, and any misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.00 and 1 year in jail (Code of Georgia Annotated 17-10-3(a)(1)).
North Carolina statute 20-141(j)(1) states that a person who drives a vehicle on a highway at a speed that is either more than 15 miles per hour more than the speed limit established by law for the highway where the offense occurred or over 80 miles per hour is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.
South Carolina Code of Law section 56-5-1520 states that: (G) A person violating the speed limits established by this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction for a first offense, must be fined or imprisoned as follows:
(1) in excess of the above posted limit but not in excess of ten miles an hour by a fine of not less than fifteen dollars nor more than twenty-five dollars;
(2) in excess of ten miles an hour but less than fifteen miles an hour above the posted limit by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars nor more than fifty dollars;
(3) in excess of fifteen miles an hour but less than twenty-five miles an hour above the posted limit by a fine of not less than fifty dollars nor more than seventy-five dollars; and
(4) in excess of twenty-five miles an hour above the posted limit by a fine of not less than seventy-five dollars nor more than two hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more than thirty days.
So yes, speeding 15 mph over the speed limit is a misdemeanor offense in Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina.
Get car insurance discounts by getting a rate quote here with us.