Alabama is one of 21 states with an enforced seat belt law. You are required to wear your seat belt at all times when the vehicle is in motion. It appear that the maximum fine for not wearing your seat belt in AL is a $25 fine. The fine may be less, for instance the Jacksonville, Alabama's traffic court site notes the ticket for a seat belt offense is $10.
Alabama Code chapter 5B gives information on the section Alabama Safety Act of 1991. In Section 32-5B-4 it specifically states:
(a) Each front seat occupant of a passenger car manufactured with safety belts in compliance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 208 shall have a safety belt properly fastened about his body at all times when the vehicle is in motion.
(b) The provisions of subsection (a) shall not apply to:
(1) A child passenger under the purview of Section 32-5-222, who is required to use a child passenger restraint system or a seat belt pursuant to Section 32-5-222.
(2) An occupant of a passenger car who possesses a written statement from a licensed physician that he is unable for medical reasons to wear a safety belt.
(3) A rural letter carrier of the United States Postal Service while performing his duties as a rural letter carrier.
(4) A driver or passenger delivering newspapers or mail from house to house.
(5) Passengers in a passenger car with model year prior to 1965.
(6) Passengers in motor vehicles which normally operate in reverse.
Section 32-5B-5 notes the penalties for the seat belt offense and states that any person violating the provisions of this chapter may be fined up to $25.00.
If you were cited for not being buckled up with your safety belt per required by AL laws then you will need to contact the court listed on your traffic ticket to find out the amount of the ticket in that jurisdiction.
Get an affordable auto insurance quote for Alabama here with us.