No, if you only have a permit in the state of California you are not permitted to drive alone so thus cannot drive yourself to school. You need to have a supervising driver with you during your learner's permit stage of the graduated driver licensing (GDL) system California has in place for beginning drivers.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) notes that with a permit a parent, guardian, spouse or adult 25 years of age or older, who has a valid California driver license, must be with you when you drive. He or she must sit in the front seat in order to take control of the vehicle, if necessary. It is illegal for you to drive alone at any time with only a California instruction permit.
In CA if you are under 18 and at least 15 ½ you can apply for a provisional driver license. The first step to getting your license is to get your instruction permit. Because you are under 18, your permit and driver license are called, "Provisional." This means you have additional restrictions placed on your permit and driver license that adults (18 and over) do not have.
Your provisional instruction permit will have the following restrictions.
- You must obey the traffic laws
- You must drive without a collision
- You must drive with your parent, guardian, spouse, or an adult 25 years of age or older, who has a valid California driver license.
- You must hold your permit for six months before you can take your driving test to get your driver license.
As of January 1, 2006, a new law changes the length of time for two restrictions on your driver license, if you are under 18 years of age: For a period of 12 months, you may not transport passengers under age 20 unless you are accompanied by a parent, guardian, instructor or licensed driver over the age of 25, and you may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
If you need more information on your restrictions as a permit holder contact the CA DMV. Once you are licensed in California you can get cheap student car insurance information here with us.