The State of New York requires that you must obey the posted speed limits in work zones, whether or not construction activities are actually going on at the time. In addition to protecting the construction workers, reduced speed limits also protect motorists. In many cases, a work zone can include road modifications like reduced lane width, lane shifts or one lane bridges. In New York State, fines are doubled for speeding in a work zone.
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) violation point system helps to identify and keep tabs on drivers who commit several traffic violations during a specific time period. In New York going between 1 - 10 mph over is 3 points, 11 - 20 is 4 points, 21 - 30 mph over is 6 points and 31 - 40 over the speed limit is an 8 point offense. More than 40 mph over the limit is 11 points. There is no mention of doubling points for work zone, school zone or other special speed limit areas.
Thus it does not appear that there are any extra (double) points are given for speeding in a work zone, but the fine attached to the ticket is doubled. The NYS Work Zone Safety Act of 2005 (which became effective in January 2006) now allows the DMV to give a driver a mandatory 60 day license suspension if a motorist receives 2 or more speeding tickets in a work zone within 18 months.
Keep in mind the NYS DMV can suspend your driver's license if you accumulate 11 points or more in 18 months. They also can suspend or revoke your license if you are convicted of 3 speeding violations within an 18 month period even if you have fewer than 11 points on your record.
Exceeding the speed limit in a work zone also allows the State of New York to hand down a $50 surcharge, in addition to your speeding citation fine. The surcharge amount gathered will fund a special public education program to promote safety in roadwork areas.
In addition to the fines and points received for this speeding ticket in a work zone, you may possibly have a driver responsibility assessment. This is usually required by NYS if you receive six or more points on your driver record during a period of 18 months. For receiving 6 points on your driver record during a period of 18 months the annual assessment is $100. The minimum amount you that you must pay each year is the annual assessment. The total assessment for the three years is $300.
If you were to get more tickets and receive more than 6 points on your driver record during this period of 18 months, the annual assessment is $25 for each point more than the original six points. The total assessment for the three years is $75 for each point more than the original six points.
To find out more about what your fine and points will be associated with this speeding citation contact the traffic court listed on your ticket. This likely would be the Sullivan county court since that is where you received the speeding ticket in the work zone.