According to Ohio law the minimum age to start driving legally is when you turn 15 years and 6 months year of age. In OH you can obtain a temporary permit if you are at least fifteen years and six months of age so before reaching this age you would be too young to get your temp (temporary permit) and begin to legally operate a vehicle with a supervising adult driver.
To get your temporary permit in Ohio you must take the driver knowledge test and vision screening at the driver license examination station.
In Ohio the permit holder must be accompanied by licensed parent, guardian or certified driving instructor who actually occupies the seat beside the driver. The Ohio license driver must be the permit holder's parent, legal guardian or a certified driving instructor. Once the permit holder is 16 years of age he or she may drive with a valid licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
A temporary permit holder must complete 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of driving with a certified instructor. A permit holder must also obtain 50 hours of driving experience with at least 10 hours at night, certified by the parent. These hours are in addition to the driver education requirement.
Other restrictions on a temporary license and then probationary license (the next step in the graduated licensing process in Ohio) include:
- Probationary driver license holders under the age of 17 will not be permitted to operate a motor vehicle with more than one person who is not a family member in the vehicle, unless accompanied by the license holder's parent, guardian, or legal custodian. Studies conducted by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety have shown that one passenger doubles the risk of a fatal crash among teen drivers, two passengers triple the risk, and three or more passengers increase the risk by more than six.
- Probationary driver license holders between 17 and 18 years of age will be restricted from driving between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless the holder is accompanied by a parent or guardian, with the following exceptions: an emergency situation, driving to or from a school activity, or driving to or from work. Travel to or from work is permitted provided the teen has written documentation from the employer.
- Probationary license holders under the age of 17 are prohibited from driving between 12:00 a.m. (midnight) and 6:00 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent or guardian with the same exceptions as above. This is a change to the previous restriction of 1:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m.
- Permit holders under the age of 18 will be prohibited from driving between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m., unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or legal custodian who holds a valid license. This is a change to the previous restriction of 1:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m.
- If a probationary driver license holder under the age of 17 is convicted of having committed one moving violation during the first six months of having a driver license, the person must be accompanied by a parent or guardian whenever operating a motor vehicle during the six-month period commencing on the date on which the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to the moving violation or until the person attains the age of 17.
- Safety belts must be available to all passengers, and everyone must be buckled up. This applies to all Temporary Permit holders and those Licensed Drivers under age 18
For more information about the minimum age to start driving and how to start the licensing process in Ohio, once you are old enough, contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Keep in mind that if you do try to drive before you get your permit you can be cited by law enforcement.