According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) representative we contacted, you will need to obtain a Financial Responsibility Certificate (FR-44) issued through your automobile insurance company and maintain it for a period of three years from the date your revocation time ended.
If however you obtain a restricted driver's license, you will carry the FR-44 insurance for a total of 4 years.
Beyond obtaining an FR-44 to get your driver's license reinstated after a DUI charge, and upon completion of your revocation time, a $160.00 reinstatement fee is also required.
It appears you are aware, due to your DUI conviction from a violation in Virginia Beach, that an Fr-44 is now required in VA instead of just a SR-22 being filed in order to get your driving privileges reinstated. The Virginia DMV notes that since January 1, 2008 the FR-44 certification is required for the following convictions:
- Maiming while under the influence
- Driving while under the influence of intoxicants or drugs
- Driving while the driver's license has been forfeited for a conviction, or finding of not innocent in the case of a juvenile
- Violation of the provisions of any federal law or law of any other state or any valid local ordinance similar to the above
FR-44 liability insurance coverage limits are double the SR-22 insurance coverage limits:
- Bodily injury/death of one person $50,000
- Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $100,000
- Property damage $40,000
If you need it our website can handle the new VA requirements when you quote and purchase online. If you indicate the above infractions and request an SR-22, we will bump your coverage requirements and after you purchase the policy the insurance company will file the FR-44 on your behalf.