According to the Oklahoma Liability Insurance Law there is Compulsory Liability Insurance required in OK. All Oklahoma drivers and/or vehicle owners are required by law to carry the minimum limits of liability for this state:
- $25,000 for injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for injury or death of two or more persons
- $25,000 for property damage
By law in Oklahoma you must show proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer or representative of the Department of Public Safety (DPS) when asked. If you are in a collision, you must show your proof of insurance to the other driver and to the other people involved.
The penalties that the OK driver's manual list for not being financial responsible and having at least the minimum required car insurance limits you may face include a fine of up to $250, 30 days in jail, or both, PLUS suspension of license and registration upon conviction of failure to comply with the Compulsory Insurance Law or failure to produce proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer or Public Safety Representative upon request.
The OK Department of Public Safety wants you to remember that if your insurance is canceled within 180 days from the beginning date of a new policy, the insurance company is required to notify them. The OK DPS will then contact you or the owner of the canceled policy for proof of insurance at your address on file. You have 30 days after being notified to contact the Department of Public Safety and verify that you have valid insurance coverage.
If you do not respond within 30 days with proof of valid auto insurance when requested by the Oklahoma DPS your driver's license and the vehicle registration will be suspended. The OK DPS must have your current address on file. Failure to keep an updated address with the Department could result in a suspension without your knowledge.
As you can see the penalties for having a lapse in insurance are harsh but the penalties are even more severe, even possibly include jail time, if you are caught driving without insurance in the state of Oklahoma.
Do not find yourself in the situation of being ticketed for being an uninsured driver in OK by keeping at least the state minimum Liability coverages on your vehicle. If you have financed your car and thus have a lien holder than you are normally required to also carry Physical Damage coverages of Collision and Comprehensive on the vehicle as well.
For free auto insurance quotes for Oklahoma, click here.