Florida's minimum coverage is $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida tag.
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) they are authorized to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle tag and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first, if you are found driving without insurance.
Florida's insurance regulator notes that if you are at fault in an accident while driving without insurance you should negotiate with each person that sustained property damages to obtain releases for their damages. If the person is insured, you should negotiate with the person's insurance company as the company assumes the rights of compensation since they have reimbursed the insured for their loss.
If you are unable to pay the amount of damages in full, you may pursue a monthly payment agreement. In Florida with the insurance coverage and releases or monthly repayment agreements, you will be able to provide them upon notice from the department to avoid unnecessary suspensions of your driver license, tags, and registrations.
The FL HSMV gives more information on that one should do if they were at fault in an accident and were without insurance. The say that if there was bodily injury and property damage to eliminate the possibility of suspension, you should purchase a full liability insurance policy (which means that it includes bodily injury liability as well as PIP and property damage liability) as soon as possible and advise the company that he was involved in an uninsured crash and may need a Form SR-22 (certification of liability insurance) in the future.
As mentioned above you will also need to negotiate with each person or their insurance company to satisfy the losses they incurred. If you are unable to pay the damages in full, try to negotiate a payment agreement to allow monthly payments.
The HSMV notes that one should always have a document completed to legitimize the agreement to be used as proof of payments required by this state department. Release forms can be obtained from a Florida driver license office.
If no one received bodily injuries in the accident then your accident would not fall under the FL Financial Responsibility Law but is subject to the Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law. The law requires that an owner whose vehicle is involved in a crash and the operator was charged with a moving traffic violation, must have in effect a policy with limits of $10,000 personal injury protection per person/per crash and $10,000 Property Damage Liability per crash (compulsory minimum coverage for Florida).
The Florida Financial Responsibility Law (Ch. 324 of the Florida Statutes) is the one referred to earlier where the driver/owner must also obtain bodily injury liability coverage.
With the insurance coverage and releases or monthly repayment agreements from those damaged in a car accident you may be able to provide them to HSMV to avoid unnecessary suspensions of his driver license, tags, and registrations.
If your driving privilege is suspended because you are not properly insured, there is a penalty to reinstate your license. A reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations, must be paid and you must provide proof of current Florida insurance.
You can get a Florida car insurance quote here with us, including a SR-22 if you need it.