There are some states that have truancy laws or drop out laws so if a minor is not attending school or is truant, missing school too often, their driver's license is suspended.
The Education Commission of the States (ECS) helps states develop effective policy and practice for public education by providing data, research, analysis and leadership; and by facilitating collaboration, the exchange of ideas among the states and long-range strategic thinking.
The ECS notes that many states have a no-pass, no-drive policy in place where a student's driver's license is revoked typically because of poor attendance (habitual truancy) and/or poor academic performance. The ECS notes that as of July 2007 there were twenty-seven (27) states have "no-pass, no-drive" policies. Of these states seventeen (17) states condition a student's driving privilege exclusively on compliance with attendance requirements.
One state, Tennessee, is especially noted because it conditions a student's driving privilege on compliance with attendance requirements and/or satisfactory academic progress in school and revokes the driving privilege of a student who is suspended for a year or expelled.
State laws differ greatly regarding truancy laws and if you can obtain a license once you turn 18 or not. In many you can start the licensing process at 18 since you are no longer a minor. You would need to contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to get information on your state's truancy law.
For examples of truancy laws in various states and how it affects minors' driver's licenses see below.
In Nevada juveniles can lose their license or have its issuance delayed for habitual absence from school. Reinstatement requirements vary with the type of offense. According to the suspension list for Nevada a first offense for truancy can get a 30 day delay of a driver's license if they are applying for a license, a second offense is a 60 day delay of a license.
For a juvenile that has been found to have truancy issue and already has a license in NV a first offense can result in a suspension of their license for 30 days up to 6 months. While a second offense can get a minor a 30 day to 1 year driver's license suspension. The period that the license will be suspended is determined by the court.
In Illinois an unmarried person under age 18 may have his/her driver's license cancelled or be refused a driver's license or instruction permit by the Secretary of State's office for failing to maintain school attendance.
In IL a graduated driver's license will not be issued to minors (who are not emancipated) unless they have either graduated from high school (or obtained a GED), enrolled in a course leading to a GED certificate or enrolled in an elementary or secondary school or college or university in the state. Students who have been expelled also face revocation of their driving privileges.
In Ohio the school Superintendent notifies the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) of unauthorized withdrawal from school or habitual absence without legitimate excuse by minors. Then the BMV then suspends the subject's temporary permit, driver's license, or right to apply will be placed under suspension until subject attains 18 years of age or until suspension is terminated. The OH BMV notes that this type of suspension shall be terminated if the subject is at least 18 years old.
Again contact your state's DMV to find out information on their particular truancy laws and if the suspension policy is still in effect once a person turns 18 years of age. If the suspension is lifted when you turn 18 since are not longer considered a minor, than the DMV should be able to tell you what steps to take to either get a license or get your driver's license reinstated.