No, in Virginia at age 18 you cannot go and get a driver's license without first holding a learner's permit.
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) notes that if you are under age 19, you must provide proof of successful completion of a state-approved driver education program and you must hold a learner's permit at least nine months before you can receive a driver's license.
In VA if you are age 19 or older and you have never held a license issued by any state, U.S. territory or foreign country, you must also provide proof of successful completion of a state-approved driver education program or you must have held a learner's permit at least 30 days before taking the road skills test.
Also if you are under 19 years of age, you will be required to show one proof of identity, one proof of legal presence, and one proof of Virginia residency, along with proof of your social security number (if you have been issued one) when you go to the Virginia DMV to apply for a license. You will be required to show your proof of identity, legal presence, Virginia residency, and social security number documents on each return visit to the VA DMV until your driver's license is issued.
With a Virginia learner's permit, you are allowed to operate a motor vehicle when a licensed driver at least 21 years of age is seated beside you. The driver accompanying you may be 18 years of age if he or she is your legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, step-brother or step-sister. The driver accompanying you must hold a valid driver's license, be alert and able to assist you and be legally permitted to drive.
When you apply for a learner's permit, you will also complete the application process for your driver's license and pay the fees for both the permit and license. You will be required to pass the two-part knowledge exam and a vision screening.
So in the Commonwealth of Virginia if you are under age 19, you must obtain and hold a learner's permit for at least nine months or until you turn age 19 before you can receive a driver's license. You will receive a certificate when you complete a required state approved driver education program that is also required by VA.
For more information on the licensing process in Virginia contact your local VA DMV. Once you are licensed and ready to place car insurance on a vehicle, you can get free auto insurance quotes online where with us.