Reckless driving in North Carolina is discussed in General Statutes 20-140. Here it states that:
(a) Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway or any public vehicular area carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others shall be guilty of reckless driving.
(b) Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway or any public vehicular area without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property shall be guilty of reckless driving.
Subsection (d) then notes reckless driving as defined in subsections (a) and (b) is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A class 2 misdemeanor of this type can come with a fine of up to $1000 and/or jail time of up to 60 days.
If you have a Level Two Limited Provisional License than you should know to move up to a Level Three Full Provisional License you need to have six months of driving with no convictions of moving violations or seat belt infractions. So if you only have a Level 2 license you will need to start your 6 months without violations over and thus take a longer time to get your full license.
There are specific NC rules that apply to persons under 18 years of age. According to the NC DMV if you are a provisional licensee, your license may be suspended for:
- 30 days, upon conviction of a second moving violation occurring within a 12-month period;
- 90 days, upon conviction of a third moving violation occurring within a 12-month period; and
- six months, upon conviction of a fourth moving violation occurring within a 12-month period.
So this first moving violation may not affect your license however if you are conviction of 2 or more violations within 12 months your license will be suspended. So you will need to be careful to not receive another citation within the next year to not lose your license for 30 days.
When you are convicted of certain motor vehicle violations in North Carolina, driver license points are placed against your driving record. Reckless driving is a fairly serious moving violation and it is a 4 point offense according to the North Carolina points list. These points will be assigned to your new driving record if you are convicted of reckless driving.
In addition to criminal penalties that the court might mandate, conviction of certain traffic offenses will result in the loss of your driving privilege.
Your driving privilege will be revoked for at least 30 days if you are convicted of:
- driving any vehicle more than 15 mph over the speed limit, if you are driving at a speed higher than 55 mph.
Your driving privilege will be taken for 60 days if you are convicted of:
- a second charge of speeding over 55 mph and more than 15 mph above the speed limit within one year; or
- speeding plus reckless driving on the same occasion.
The DMV can also suspend your license for the following:
- Two convictions of speeding over 55 mph within a 12 month period;
- One conviction of speeding over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless driving within a 12 month period;
- A conviction of willful racing with another motor vehicle, whether it is pre-arranged or spontaneous.
- A suspended court sentence or part of a sentence mandating that you must not operate a motor vehicle for a specified period of time; and/or
- A conviction for speeding over 75 mph.
You will need to contact the court to find out the usual cost of a first time North Carolina careless and reckless ticket. The court and/or the NC Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) should be able to tell you about other penalties as well and how a conviction of this violation may affect your driver's license specifically.
A reckless driving ticket may also affect your insurance rates. You are already considered a young and inexperienced driver by an insurance company since you are so recently licensed and so your rates will likely rise due to what an insurance carrier is likely to find a serious offense. If your rates do rise you can click here to get affordable car insurance quotes.