dcsimg
Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

In Pennsylvania, what is the fine for driving a uninspected vehicle?


A

In Pennsylvania, inspection stickers expire on the last day of the month indicated by inspection sticker (i.e. 12-014 would be December 31, 2014).  We have found that the fine for expired inspection sticker is $25.00 plus costs.  Incredibly, we have have read that the fine usually ends up being around $100.

Section 4703 of the Pennslyvania Vehicle Code is titled Operation of vehicle without official certificate of inspection. Under this Section it notes the penalty:

(1) a person violating this section is guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of up to $25.

(2) Where the subject vehicle is a motor carrier vehicle, bus or school bus, the police officer or qualified Commonwealth employee shall place the vehicle out of service and require that the vehicle not be operated under its own power until such time as the vehicle is issued a valid official certificate of inspection. In addition, the person violating this section commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500.

So it appears whether the inspection is expired or missing completely the fine is $25; however,  if you are without an inspection entirely in Pennslyvania that the fine ends up being around $200 with all court costs and extra fees added in.

Displaying a fictitious or stolen inspection sticker issued to another vehicle, carries a $100 fine for first offense and $200 to $500 fine or 90 day imprisonment, or both for subsequent violations.

If you have been cited for driving your motor vehicle without having an inspection completed for it, then you should contact the court listed on the ticket for information on the fine amount. For information on the type of inspection you need for vehicle and where to get it done you can contact the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

To register a car in Pennsylvania you will need valid car insurance on your vehicle. We can help you compare state car insurance rates and find the company that is offering you the best rates for your needs.

And some good news, if you have been ticketed for driving with an expired inspection sticker, it shouldn't affect your rates since it's a non-moving offense.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
1 Responses to "In Pennsylvania, what is the fine for driving a uninspected vehicle?"
  1. jethro

    How do you turn in a person who has been driving with expired Pennsylvania stickers for over a year? I am tired of hearing this person brag about it.

      Reply»