The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) does not state that a driver's license is needed in order to register or title a vehicle. The steps they mention to register a car include paying an excise tax at your town office. Excise tax is a municipal tax that needs to be paid to a local municipal office.
If your municipality does not participate in the registration program, than you will have to drive to a BMV branch office to register a car.
According to the ME BMV the Documents needed for registering and titling a car include:
- Signed bill of sale
- Title, if the vehicle is 15 years old or newer, signed over to new owner from the previous owner(s).
- Evidence of insurance (ID card, policy or binder)
- White and yellow copy of registration application and excise tax receipt (from town office)
To finish up the registration process in Maine one must pay 5% Maine sales tax on the purchase price of the vehicle. And also pay the title application fee ($33.00) along with the appropriate registration fees based on type of plate selected.
We contacted the ME BMV to confirm that a driver' license is not needed to title and register a vehicle in Maine. They responded that you do not need a license to register a vehicle. If the person registering the vehicle is a minor, there are other requirements. Title 29A Section 352 of the Maine Statutes is titled Minors and states:
1. Application for registration. The Secretary of State may not approve the application of a minor for registration of a vehicle unless the minor is at least 15 years old and the application is signed by:
A. A parent or guardian who has the custody of the minor;
B. If the minor has no parent or guardian, the minor's employer; or
C. If the minor is emancipated, the minor. In this case, the application must be accompanied by an attested copy of the court order of emancipation.
2. Suspension. If a person who has signed the application files with the Secretary of State a notarized written request that the registration be suspended.
So though a driver's license is not needed to register a car, proof of insurance is required and it can be difficult to obtain auto insurance for a vehicle if you do not have a valid driver's license. There are certain circumstances where an insurance company may allow another person to be the listed driver on your car's insurance if you do not have a driver's license however you may need to shop around to find an insurer that would allow this.