Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

Over 10,000 questions asked & answered

 
Hi Penny!

Answering your CarInsurance.com questions since 2005

Q

In North Dakota, how long does a DUI stay on your driving record?


A

The North Dakota Department of Transportation (DOT) is the keeper of driving records for this state. According to the DOT representative, violations stay on your driving record for 3 years normally. If you have a serious offense though, such as a DUI, it will remain on your ND motor vehicle record for 7 years. However for insurance purposes even this serious offense can only be rated for 3 years just as with minor offenses.

Violations are placed on your North Dakota driving record by the conviction date and thus would come off using the conviction date, not the violation date. So your will have to wait 7 years for the Driving Under the Influence violation conviction to be taken off of your ND driving record.

In North Dakota, as in most states, they have harsh penalties for driving under the influence. There are two separate penalties involved under the ND DUI law. One is an administrative license penalty; the other is a court conviction penalty. Your driving privileges may be suspended through either or both processes. By law, under the administrative penalty, if you are arrested for DUI, the arresting officer will take your operator's license then and there.

[Let CarInsurance.com help you find affordable auto insurance now.]

If convicted through the court process, in addition to losing your driver's license, you also face mandatory fines and jail sentences.

  • First conviction—$250 fine.
  • Second conviction within five years—$500 fine and five days in jail or 30 days community service work.
  • Third conviction within five years—$1,000 fine and 60 days in jail.
  • Fourth conviction within seven years—$1,000 fine and 180 days in jail.

In addition, all convicted offenders are required to submit to a mandatory alcohol addiction evaluation. These are just the minimum penalties.

Also if convicted of a DUI, the law requires you to show proof of financial responsibility (SR 22 insurance coverage). According to the ND DOT site, the state's Drivers License Division requires those that have been convicted of certain violations, such as a DUI, to show proof of future financial responsibility for a period of one year.

If you are in need of North Dakota auto insurance you can click here for instant car insurance quotes.


Categories:


Comments

Tell us what you think about this answer

Leave a Comment
(required)
(required; won't be published)
 
 
 
0 Responses to "In North Dakota, how long does a DUI stay on your driving record?"