The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) states that once you are licensed to drive in California it is important that you continue to follow all the laws and practice safe driving habits. If you start accumulating tickets for moving violations, which count as one or two points, you may be considered a negligent operator and may lose your privilege to drive.
The length of time depends on the severity of the offense. Most minor offenses (not making a complete stop, driving over the speed limit, etc.) are designated as 1 point in California and will remain on your record for three (3) years from the violation date. Any "at fault" accident is normally counted as one point and remains on your driving record for 3 years. Most other driving offenses, such as hit and run, reckless driving, and driving under the influence, are designated as 2 points and will remain on your record for up to 10 years from the violation date.
You may be considered a negligent operator when your driving record shows any one of the following point count totals regardless of your license class:
- 4 points in 12 months
- 6 points in 24 months
- 8 points in 36 months
So depending upon your violation the points will stay on your CA driving record for at least 3 years. Depending on the type of conviction though and the severity of the offense the points may stay for up to 10 years. To see how many points you have on your record get a copy of your driver's history from the DMV.
A point on your driving record does not normally cause your auto insurance rates to rise but the violation that caused you to be assigned points may depending upon your insurance company's rating system. For car insurance comparison quotes click here.