You would need to check with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) or police to find out what you would specifically cited for if you were caught driving without a licensed driver as your accompanying passenger in the front seat while holding only a learner's permit.
Typically this type of offense is written up as driving without a license since an OK learner permit which only grants the permittee the privilege to operate a Class D motor vehicle upon the public highways while accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least twenty-one (21) years of age and who is actually occupying a seat beside the permittee so we will give you the penalties for this charge. We have found that there are harsh penalties in Oklahoma for driving without a license (unauthorized driving) by either a minor or an adult.
According to the Oklahoma Driver's Manual it is illegal to drive without a license and both you and the person who lets you drive their car can be arrested.
In OK it is illegal to let another person drive your vehicle or a vehicle that you are responsible for unless that person has a valid driver license. The DPS notes specifically that on conviction for driving without a valid driver's license you can face a fine of up to $500 or 6 months in jail, or both.
Here is information on the specific Oklahoma Statutes that could be associated with a minor operating a car against their permit restriction of having a supervising driver and being cited for driving without a license.
Oklahoma Statutes Title 47 Section 47-6-101 states that no person, except those hereinafter expressly exempted in Section 6-102 of this title, shall operate any motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the person has a valid Oklahoma driver license for the class of vehicle being operated under the provisions of this title. No person shall be permitted to possess more than one valid license at any time.
Section 47-6-308 of the OK Statues states that:
A. It is a misdemeanor for any person to violate any of the provisions of Section 47-6-101 et seq. of this title unless such violation is by Section 47-6-101 et seq. of this title or other law of this state declared to be a felony.
B. Unless another penalty is in Section 47-6-101 et seq. of this title or by laws of this state provided, every person convicted of a misdemeanor for the violation of any provision of Section 47-6-101 et seq. of this title shall be punished by a fine of not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
C. The Department of Public Safety may, in addition to the penalty above, suspend for a period not exceeding thirty (30) days the registration certificate of a motor vehicle owned by any person who permits said vehicle to be used in violation of Section 47-6-304, 47-6-305 or 47-6-306 of this title. The Department may suspend, for a period of not to exceed six (6) months, the registration certificate of any motor vehicle, when the owner permits said vehicle to be operated by an individual whose driving privilege is under denial, cancellation, suspension or revocation.
Section 47-6-304 is titled Permitting Unauthorized Minor to Drive and notes that no person shall cause or knowingly permit his child or ward under the age of sixteen years to drive a motor vehicle upon any highway when such minor is not authorized hereunder or in violation of any of the provisions of this chapter. So as mentioned in the above statute if a parent allows their child to drive a car before he or she is licensed than the parent can also be penalized by the state of Oklahoma.
47-6-307 contains information on the liability a car owner can have for knowingly permitting the operation of their vehicle by a person not licensed. Here is says that any person who is the owner of any motor vehicle and knowingly permits such motor vehicle to be operated by any person who is not qualified to operate a motor vehicle under the provisions of this act, shall be held civilly liable as a joint tortfeasor for any unlawful act committed by such operator.
As these laws show not only can the minor get in high fines and possibly jail time for driving without a license, the parent who allows this can be penalized. The car owner would be liable for the unlicensed driver as well putting them and their assets at risk.
If you were ticketed by law enforcement in the state of Oklahoma for driving without a license due to not following the conditions of your learner's permit you should contact the court to find out more about the penalties that you may expect to receive and to find out if there will be a delay on getting your license if you are convicted of this charge.
It does say as part of the OK law that Learner permits and intermediate Class D licenses may be suspended or canceled at the discretion of the Department for violation of restrictions, for failing to give the required or correct information on the application, for knowingly giving false or inaccurate information on the application or any subsequent documentation related to the granting of driving privileges, or for violation of any traffic laws of this state pertaining to the operation of a motor vehicle. So there may be a suspension period you will have to wait out before you can start the OK licensing process again.