Question: If my New York state inspection sticker expired for 10 days and I received a citation could I send in proof of inspection and have the ticket dismissed?
Answer: You can contact the court listed on your expired New York inspection sticker citation to see if renewing your inspection sticker and sending in proof will allow the ticket to be dismissed; however, to the best of our knowledge the courts in New york do not normally allow this.
Once you are ticketed for the expired inspection sticker, you're basically being warned to get a new inspection sticker or to continue to be ticketed for being operated or parked on public streets if you do not.
In states that allow dismissals for expired inspection stickers it is usually noted in the laws or statutes and we do not see this in the New York Laws. The requirement for having a current inspection sticker and the penalties for not doing so are listed under the NYS Vehicle and Traffic (VAT) laws under Article 5.
Section 306 of this area of the VAT only gives information on this inspections by saying that no motor vehicle shall be operated or parked on the public highways of this state unless a certificate or certificates of inspection, as required by this article, is or are displayed upon the vehicle or affixed to the registration certificate for the vehicle as may be determined by the commissioner.
The fines for not having a current inspection sticker is mentioned here but no information on being able to dismiss an inspection sticker ticket by getting the inspection done before the due date.
In New York, inspection stations electronically send a record of all emissions inspections to the DMV. The DMV must have a record that your vehicle passed an emissions inspection during the previous year or you will not be able to renew your registration.
And as you know from your citation if the inspection sticker on your vehicle has expired in the past 60 days, you can receive a fine of $25 to $50. If the inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, the fine is between $50 and $100. If there is no inspection sticker, the fine is between $50 and $100. Mandatory state surcharges of up to $55 are added to the base fine amount.
Use our car insurance calculators to determine what your car insurance needs are and to find affordable car insurance rates in New York.