As described in New Jersey Revised Statute (NJSA) 39:3-13.4, in NJ a two-year probationary driver period begins after receiving a driver's license permit (either a special learner or examination permit). During this probationary period, if you are convicted of two or more moving violations totaling four (4) or more points must enroll in the Probationary Driver School Program (PDP), which is administered by the MVC (N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.3d).
The attendance fee is $100 for this program, which corrects improper or dangerous driving habits (N.J.A.C. 13:19-10.3f). If you complete the program, you will receive a three-point reduction on your motorist's history record and will be placed on a one-year test period. Failure to complete the program or conviction of one or more subsequent moving violations during the test period will result in a suspension of driving privileges
When notified by a court of competent jurisdiction that a probationary license holder has been convicted of a second or subsequent violation, in addition to any other penalties provided under law, the chief administrator shall, without the exercise of discretion or a hearing, suspend the probationary license for three months, and shall postpone eligibility for a basic license for an equivalent period. In addition, when the chief administrator is notified by a court of competent jurisdiction that a probationary license holder has been convicted of any alcohol or drug-related offense unrelated to the operation of a motor vehicle, and he is not otherwise subject to any other suspension penalty therefore, the chief administrator shall, without the exercise of discretion or a hearing, suspend the probationary license for six months.
So the PDP is a program mandated for new (probationary) drivers who are convicted of two or more moving violations totaling four or more points in their first two years of driving.
So there are specific laws regarding probationary drivers in New Jersey. If you get even more points you could receive more penalties per what the NJ MVC lists with their points schedule. Here it says that motorists who accumulate six or more points within three years are subject to a surcharge of $150 for six points and $25 for each additional point.
Surcharges are levied in addition to any court-imposed fines and penalties. Surcharges will remain operational if a motorist has six or more points on his/her motorist record resulting from violations posted in the preceding three years. Point totals are based on the date the violations are posted to a motorist's record, not when the violations occurred
The New Jersey points list also notes that your driving privileges will be suspend if you have 12 or more points on your license. If you go one year without any points or violations, three points will be deducted from your license.
To find out more about the restrictions and conditions placed on a New Jersey provisional or probationary driver, including the amount of points they can accumulate, contact the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) directly. To get cheap student car insurance information for NJ, click here.