As noted in New Jersey Statute 39:3-4, every resident of this State and every nonresident whose automobile or motorcycle shall be driven in this State shall, before using such vehicle on the public highways, register the same, and no automobile or motorcycle shall be driven unless so registered.
Later in this NJ Statute it states that no person owning or having control over any unregistered vehicle shall permit the same to be parked or to stand on a public highway.
Any police officer is authorized to remove any unregistered vehicle from the public highway to a storage space or garage, and the expense involved in such removal and storing of the vehicle shall be borne by the owner of the vehicle, except that the expense shall be borne by the lessee of a leased vehicle.
The end of the statute notes that any person violating the provisions of this section shall be subject to a fine not exceeding $100. So it appears that a fine should be what your penalty will turn out to be for your unregistered car. There of course may be court costs, fees, surcharges, etc added on by the court or state that makes the ticket higher than $100.
If you were ticketed for having an unregistered vehicle in New Jersey you should contact the court listed on the citation to find out more about the fine and any other penalties the court or NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) may give you.
Click here for free auto insurance quotes for NJ.