The penalties for driving without insurance in Louisiana if you are cited by LA law enforcement is that the car can be impounded, your registration and license plates (tags) can be suspended or revoked as well being hit with fines and administrative fees.
LA courts online do not list a fine amount for driving without insurance (also known as security required or no insurance certificate) but state that it is a required court appearance to determine the penalties. One Louisiana court notes that if proof of correction of infraction is presented on or before the court date, the total due is $107.00 and a court appearance is not required.
Louisiana Revised Statutes Section 32:861 is the part of law in this state that discusses the compulsory motor vehicle security that is required. Here it states that failure to comply with the requirements of this Subsection shall subject the owner and the operator to the sanctions which are provided in R.S. 32:57 and limitations on recovery of damages provided for in this Part. Owners and operators of any motor vehicle in violation of this Subsection shall be subject to limitation of recovery as provided for in R.S. 32:866.
RS 32:57 notes that the first violation of the provisions of this Chapter or any regulation of the department, secretary, and commissioner made pursuant thereto shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred seventy-five dollars or by imprisonment for not more than thirty days, or both, unless otherwise specifically provided. A subsequent violation shall be punished by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars or by imprisonment for not more than ninety days, or both.
So it appears from this section of law a first time offense comes with a fine amount of up to $175 (though there may be extra court costs, administrative fees, etc that raise the total cost of the ticket to be much higher) and/or jail time of up to 30 days.
RS 32:866 is what many refer to as Louisiana's "No Pay, No Play" law. In Louisiana if you do not have liability coverage on your car at the time of an accident, the "No Pay, No Play" law applies. That is, an individual who does not have Liability insurance cannot collect for the first $10,000 of damages or injuries in an accident, no matter who is at fault for the incident.
If you have been cited for driving without insurance in Louisiana you should contact the court listed on your ticket to find out in that county what your total fine amount will be and the other possible penalties that their judge typically hands down for this offense.
To get instant car insurance quotes for Louisiana, click here.