All vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection and an emissions inspection every 12 months. Both inspections are also required when the ownership of a vehicle is transferred. Both inspections are done at the same time by a DMV-certified inspector at privately-owned inspection stations licensed by New York Department of Motor Vehicles.
NYS inspection stations electronically send a record of all emissions inspections to the DMV. The DMV must have a record that your vehicle passed an emissions inspection during the previous year for you to be able to renew your registration. The NYS DMV advises that you thus keep the receipt of your emissions inspection sticker to prove that your vehicle was inspected.
The NYS DMV notes that if the inspection sticker on your vehicle has expired in the past 60 days, you can receive a fine of $25 to $50.
If the inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, the fine is between $50 and $100.
If there is no inspection sticker, the fine is between $50 and $100.
Mandatory state surcharges of $55, plus additional fees, are added to all the fines.
Keep in mind as well that a parked vehicle with no inspection sticker, or with an expired inspection sticker, can receive a parking ticket. So not only can you be ticketed by police if found driving your car with an expired inspection sticker if it is parked on a public roadway it can be ticketed for the expired inspection in the way of a parking ticket.
Get affordable auto insurance quotes for New York here.