From what we have read an expired license plate (thus having an expired registration sticker) comes with a fine of around $90 in the state of Illinois. Also when renewing your registration fee, a $20 late fee will be assessed for all applicants who renew more than one calendar month past their registration expiration date.
So basically if you are 30 days past the expiration date of your plates / registration than you will get a late fee when renewing them along with the fine the court assesses for being caught driving with expired plates/registration on your vehicle.
The Illinois laws that appear to apply to expired registration are:
Chapter 625 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) Section 5/3-701 (625 ILCS 5/3-701) notes that a vehicle required to be registered in Illinois. A current and valid Illinois registration sticker and plate or plates is required.
625 ILCS 5/3-413 is titled Display of registration plates, registration stickers and drive away permits. Here under subsection (f) it states that no person shall operate a vehicle nor permit the operation of a vehicle, upon which is displayed an Illinois registration plate, plates or registration stickers after the termination of the registration period for which issued or after the expiration date. From what we have been able to find the penalty is then a fine if you are caught driving on an expired plate.
If you were ticketed for operating a vehicle in Illinois with expired plates (registration) than you should contact the court listed on your citation to find out the penalty that the court normally hands down for this and if renewing your registration before the court date will help you reduce or dismiss your ticket.
Get instant car insurance quotes for Illinois here with us.
More articles from Penny Gusner