Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753


See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.


In Illinois, how long do points stay on your license?


We contacted the Driver Services Department of the Illinois Secretary of State (SOS) and their representative stated that points do not actually stay on an IL driver's license. The State really does not have a points system per say regarding moving violations so points do not get assigned each time you get a violation and then stay there for a certain length of time.

Instead what the SOS explained to us is that they go by the amount of moving violations you have been convicted of and once you reach a certain number of convictions they can then assign points from their point schedule to determine how long your driver's license suspension will be for. So the points are mainly just looked at by the SOS to determine what action to take against your license and are not actually placed on your driving record according to the representative we spoke with.

The Illinois driver's handbook notes that in IL your driver's license will be suspended if you are convicted of three traffic violations committed within any 12 month (1 year) period. If you are under age 21 two traffic violations within any 24 month (2 year) period will result in a suspension. If you are under age 18, you will be required to successfully complete a driver remedial education course to make your driving privileges valid again. In addition, you may be required to submit to a complete driver's license examination to be re-issued a driver's license.

The SOS says the length of suspension varies according to the seriousness of the traffic offenses. This is where points come in since the major offenses come with higher points totals. Section 1420.2 of Chapter II under Article 92 of the Illinois Administrative Code gives the list of what points are for various offenses when the SOS would go to look them up and determine a person's suspension period. Illinois' unique way of using points would explain their also unique points system that ranges from 5 points for something such as driving below the minimum speed limit up to 50 points for driving 25 MPH or more over the speed limit.

So in IL you face suspension or revocation of your driver's license if you amass too many traffic violations in 1 year. The length of time you lose your license is then determined by SOS officials going to the state's point schedule to see what points are associated with the moving violations you have been convicted of and by them looking at your past driving record. The SOS doesn't keep a running total since the suspension is not dependent upon the amount of points assessed within a time period but instead with the amount of traffic violation convictions.

Illinois law is such that if you have had your license suspended or revoked before, the courts can increase the length of time you lose your driving privileges if you collect three traffic convictions in one year. From what we have found if you are a first time offender for suspension/revocation purposes the penalties are:

  • 0 to 14 points―no action
  • 15 to 44 points―2-month suspension
  • 45 to 74 points―3-month suspension
  • 75 to 89 points―6-month suspension
  • 90 to 99 points―9-month suspension
  • 100 to 109 points―12-month suspension
  • 110 or more points―12-month revocation

If you are considered a repeat offender, meaning you have had a driver's license suspension or revocation in the past 7 years, the penalties are:

  • 0 to 14 points―no action
  • 15 to 44 points―4-month suspension
  • 45 to 74 points―6-month suspension
  • 75 to 109 points―12-month suspension
  • 110 or more points―12-month revocation

As for how long violations stay on an Illinois motor vehicle record, we were told that convictions remain on for a period of five years, unless they result in a suspension or revocation. In this case, they remain on the record for 7 ½ to 10 years. Driving records that you can order go back 5 years unless there are alcohol violations on it, since offenses such as a DUI and other alcohol/drug offenses remain on a driver's record for a lifetime in Illinois according to the SOS.

To get more information on the penalties for moving violations, how their unique point system works and other driving record issues contact the IL Secretary of State directly. Get instant car insurance quotes for Illinois here with us no matter what your driving record.


Add Comment

Leave a Comment
0 Responses to "In Illinois, how long do points stay on your license?"