It will depend under what section of New Jersey law you were cited under as to what the fine amount will be. If you were cited for under NJ Statute 39:3-4 which is driving or parking unregistered motor vehicle than the fine can be up to $100 however most fine lists we have seen only charge $54. If you are charged under NJ Statute 39:3-29 which is failure to possess registration the fine amount is higher on the fine lists and it appears to cost $180 for this offense normally.
As noted in New Jersey Statute 39:3-4, every resident of this State and every nonresident whose automobile or motorcycle shall be driven in this State shall, before using such vehicle on the public highways, register the same, and no automobile or motorcycle shall be driven unless so registered. Later in this NJ Statute it states that no person owning or having control over any unregistered vehicle shall permit the same to be parked or to stand on a public highway.
Any police officer is authorized to remove any unregistered vehicle from the public highway to a storage space or garage, and the expense involved in such removal and storing of the vehicle shall be borne by the owner of the vehicle, except that the expense shall be borne by the lessee of a leased vehicle.
The end of the statute notes that any person violating the provisions of this section shall be subject to a fine not exceeding $100.On the fine lists we have seen from courts in NJ the fine amount is usually between $44 to $54 but could be up to $100 if your court so decides. There also may be court costs, fees, surcharges, etc added on by the court or state that makes the ticket higher than $100.
NJSA 39:3-29 is the other statue that one could be charged under if you do not have registration. A motorist who operates a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey must carry a valid driver license, a valid provisional license or a validated New Jersey permit. The motorist must also carry valid insurance and vehicle registration cards. So failure to possess driver's license, registration, or insurance identification card can get you cited and receive a higher fine amount.
NJ Statute 39:3-29 states that the driver's license, the registration certificate of a motor vehicle and an insurance identification card shall be in the possession of the driver or operator at all times when he is in charge of a motor vehicle on the highways of this State.
The driver or operator shall exhibit his driver's license and an insurance identification card, and the holder of a registration certificate or the operator or driver of a motor vehicle for which a registration certificate has been issued, whether or not the holder, driver or operator is a resident of this State, shall also exhibit the registration certificate, when requested so to do by a police officer or judge, while in the performance of the duties of his office, and shall write his name in the presence of the officer, so that the officer may thereby determine the identity of the licensee and at the same time determine the correctness of the registration certificate, as it relates to the registration number and number plates of the motor vehicle for which it was issued; and the correctness of the evidence of a policy of insurance, as it relates to the coverage of the motor vehicle for which it was issued.
Court sites refer to a violation of NJSA 39:3-29 as failure to exhibit documents with a fine amount of $180.
If you were ticketed for having an unregistered vehicle in New Jersey you should contact the court listed on the citation to find out more about the fine amount that jurisdiction gives out for the offense and any other penalties the court or NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) may give you.
Click here for free auto insurance quotes for NJ.