In Indiana driving without a license is a misdemeanor and if you are caught driving a motor vehicle without a license there are severe penalties.
Indiana Code 9-24-18-1 states that a person who operates a motor vehicle upon a highway and has never received a valid driving license commits a Class C misdemeanor. In Indiana a Class C misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of sixty (60) days, a fine of up to five hundred dollars ($500.00), or both.
The car owner that allows an unlicensed driver to operate their vehicle can also receive a penalty per IC 9-24-18-3. This part of Indiana law states that a person that has a motor vehicle in the person's custody may not cause or knowingly permit a person to drive the vehicle upon a highway unless the person obtains a license or permit under this article. Anyone who violates this section commits a Class C infraction. A Class C infraction in IN can come with a fine of up to $500; no jail time can be imposed.
Besides a fine and/or jail time for driving without a license there can be other penalties imposed, such as a delay when you do want to obtain a driver's license. IC 9-24-18-9 says that the IN Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) may establish a driving record for an Indiana resident who does not hold any type of valid driving license. The driving record shall be established for an unlicensed driver when an abstract of court conviction has been received by the bureau. The record shall be maintained for not less than three (3) years for each unlicensed driver.
This part of the Indiana law goes on to say if an unlicensed driver applies for and receives any type of driving license in Indiana, the person's driving record as an unlicensed driver shall be recorded on the permanent record file. An unlicensed driver who has had at least two (2) traffic violation convictions in Indiana within twenty-four (24) months before applying for any type of driving license may not be issued a license within one (1) year after the date of the second traffic conviction as indicated on the abstract of court conviction record. If the bureau issues a license without knowledge of the second conviction, the bureau shall suspend the license upon learning of the second conviction and notify the person of the reason for the suspension and the term of the suspension.
Since you have been ticketed for driving without a license than you should contact the court listed on the citation to find out about the penalties they typically hand out for a first time offender. You also will have to pay the fine for the speeding ticket, which usually runs around $120 from the fine lists we have seen.
When you have a valid license and are ready to drive again you can contact us for free auto insurance quotes.