Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

I have my provisional license currently. I turn 18 May 14 but Kyleigh's law takes effect May 1. I understand my curfew will 11 pm but when I turn 18, does this mean the curfew will remain 11 pm until I am 21? Or does it only affect those who do not already have their provisional licenses?


A

According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) all teens holding a permit or provisional (restricted) license must comply with the changes that take effective on May 1, 2010 due to the passing of Kyleigh's law and other GDL bills that passed and were signed into laws.

If when you turn 18 you are eligible and obtain a basic driver's license then you would not need to then follow the limitations of the new teen driving laws any longer. These restrictions only apply while you are carrying a provisional license (renamed as probationary license as of May1), so if you continue to carry it and do not obtain a basic driver's license until you reach age 21 then you would have to continue to drive under the GDL restrictions

Under the New Jersey GDL laws, a teen driver must hold a provisional license (following completion of the permit phase) for a minimum of 12 months. Once he completes those 12 months of provisional licensure, he should visit the nearest Motor Vehicle Commission agency to obtain a basic, unrestricted license. If you fail to obtain a basic license and is stopped by a police officer, you would still be subject to the requirements and restrictions of the GDL laws.

So if you are holding a permit or provisional license then as of May 1, 2010 you will be required to display the decal and adhere to the other restrictions of the GDL laws, they are not "grandfathering" in anyone that already had a provisional license. Once you obtain a basic license all restrictions and requirements under the GDL law system are lifted.

Just to go over the new laws in NJ for teens in the GDL system they include:

Kyleigh's Law - Effective May 1, 2010 all drivers under age 21, who are subject to the requirements of New Jersey's Graduated Driver License (GDL), which includes those drivers possessing a special learners permit, examination permit or probationary (formerly provisional) license, must display a reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back) of any motor vehicle they operate.

Details of these mandatory decals are as follows:

  • Each 1 ½ inch by 1 inch, reflectorized decal is red in color and made with removable, 3M Dual Lock® material
  • One decal must be displayed on the upper left corner of the front license plate and one on the upper left corner of the rear license plate
  • Failure to display the decals during operation of a vehicle by a learner's permit, an examination permit or probationary license holder, who is subject to the GDL requirements, is a violation subject to a $100 fine. See N.J.S.A. 39:3-13.8.
  • Decals will be available at local motor vehicle agencies on April 12, $4 per pair (initial or replacement); decals sold as pairs only
  • Drivers who are not subject to Kyleigh's Law should remove decals prior to operating the vehicle

In addition to the decal requirement, effective May 1, 2010, New Jersey GDL drivers will also be subject to the following restrictions:

  • May not operate a motor vehicle after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
  • May not use a hand-held or hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
  • Unless over age 21, GDL drivers may only drive with the following passengers:
    • Special Permit Holders:
      -Supervising driver who is over 21 and licensed to drive for at least three (3) years
      -Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s)
      -One additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
    • Examination Permit Holders
      -Supervising driver who is over 21 and licensed to drive for at least three (3) years
      -Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s)
      -One additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
    • Probationary (formerly Provisional) License Holder
      -Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s)
      -One additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
  • Failure to abide by any GDL restriction during operation of a vehicle by a learner's permit, an examination permit or probationary license holder, who is subject to the GDL requirements, is a violation subject to a $100 fine. See N.J.S.A. 39:3-13.8

For more information on the NJ graduated driver's license restrictions and conditions contact the New Jersey MVC.

To get information on teen auto insurance click here and then get a quote for cheap car insurance here.



Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "I have my provisional license currently. I turn 18 May 14 but Kyleigh's law takes effect May 1. I understand my curfew will 11 pm but when I turn 18, does this mean the curfew will remain 11 pm until I am 21? Or does it only affect those who do not already have their provisional licenses?"