The Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) told us that accidents are posted to a driver's record after a reportable accident. Oregon law requires an accident be reported to DMV when one or more of the following occurs:
- An injury or death to any person;
- Damage to the vehicle you were driving is over $1,500;
- Damage to property other than a vehicle is over $1,500; or
- Damage to any vehicle is over $1,500 and any vehicle is towed from the scene due to damages from the accident; or
- You are the owner of a vehicle involved in a reportable accident and the driver fails to report the accident.
The Oregon DMV maintains driving records, called driver's abstracts, that include information on any accident or conviction for a driving infraction for up to three years per ORS 802.220 (a)(b)(c).
There are four types of driving records available: Certified court prints, Non-employment driving records, Non-employment open-ended driving records, and Employment driving records.
The Certified court print driving record includes most entries for the previous five years. Serious criminal traffic offenses, such as driving under the influence of intoxicants, may remain on the record permanently.
The Non-employment driving record has entries for the previous three years. This record lists all non-employment related accidents, convictions, suspensions, cancellations, revocations and diversion agreements.
So this certified record includes Oregon accidents, diversion agreements, and convictions other than those in the employment driving record for the last three years. Record may contain some commercial driver license entries, some out-of-state commercial entries, miscellaneous administrative entries and multiple status entries.
The Non-employment open-ended driving record contains the same information as a non-employment driving record but is not limited to three years and is available only for the purpose of providing insurance discount to an individual.
This type of driving record is available only to an insurer, insurance support organization and the person (to whom the record pertains) for the purpose of providing a discount to the individual. Contains the same information as a non-employment driving record but is not limited to three years.
The Employment driving record is a three-year record that is limited to convictions and accidents the driver had while on the job.
So this certified three-year record of Oregon employment-related convictions and accidents and commercial driver license entries. May contain some out-of-state commercial entries, multiple status entries and miscellaneous administrative entries.
We asked the OR DMV how long accidents, violations, etc remain on a non-employment open-ended driving record and they said they do not come off unless you get a violation, accident, etc purged from your record.
Insurance companies however normally only look back 3 years. Oregon's auto insurance regulator, the Insurance Division, notes that the premium you pay for personal auto insurance is a direct reflection of the driving records of you and your listed drivers for the past three years. The exception maybe if you have business or commercial insurance since the Oregon DMV representative we spoke to said that they have seen commercial insurance providers look back 5 or even 10 years on the non-employment open-ended driving record.
Get started with a low cost car insurance quote for Oregon here with us.