Question: In Minnesota, how many driving violations can you get before your license suspended?
Answer: The state of Minnesota does not operate on a point system, in which drivers accumulate points on their license for every moving violation they commit and then if they reach a certain total get their driver's license suspended. Instead in Minnesota your license can still be suspended, revoked or cancelled if you commit too many moving violations.
Minnesota Statute 7409.2200 notes defines a habitual violator and lists the suspension periods of a person's driver's license that has too many traffic violations within a certain period of time. This part of MN law states that the commissioner shall suspend the driver's license of a person upon receiving a record of conviction for a violation of a traffic law under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 169 or 171, or other statutes regulating the operation of motor vehicles on streets or highways, except traffic laws specifically excluded from the driving record by statute. The driver's license must be suspended for a period of:
A. 30 days, if the commissioner has previously sent a violation warning letter to the person and the person is convicted of:
(1) four traffic offenses within a 12-month period; or
(2) five traffic offenses within a 24-month period;
B. 90 days, if the person is convicted of:
(1) five traffic offenses within a 12-month period; or
(2) six traffic offenses within a 24-month period;
C. 180 days, if the person is convicted of seven traffic offenses within a 24-month period; or
D. one year, if the person is convicted of eight or more traffic offenses within a 24-month period.
The commissioner shall send a warning letter or conduct a preliminary hearing under part 7409.4500 if the person is convicted of two misdemeanors or convicted of three or more traffic offenses, under this subpart, occurring within a 24-month period.
Furthermore subpart 2 of MN Statute 7409.2200 states that the commissioner shall suspend the driver's license of a person for a period of 30 days upon receiving a record of conviction of two or more violations of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.974, subdivision 2 [No person shall operate a motorcycle on any street or highway without having a valid standard driver's license with a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement as provided by law]; 171.02 [license required]; 171.05 [instruction permit]; or 171.321 [school bus driver].
Minnesota Driver and Vehicles Services states that regular moving violations (speed, stop signs, HOV, etc) have a 5 year mandatory retention under state law. After that length of time they are removable upon request. Alcohol violations, however, are permanent. To see how many violations you currently have listed on your Minnesota driving record you can contact the MN Driver and Vehicle Services Department for a copy of your MVR. Too many moving violations on your driving record will increase the cost of liability insurance.