Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

Citation for violating passenger restriction


A

Question: I have my NJ provisional license. I got pulled over today for having too many people in the car and got a ticket for it in the state of NJ. How much will the ticket cost?

Answer: To find out the exact cost of your ticket for driving against the passenger restrictions of your New Jersey provisional (probationary) license, you will need to contact the court listed on your citation. As you know you can only transport one additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian with your license type.

We can, however, tell you that the base fine for violating your graduated driver's license (GDL) restrictions is $100 but then costs and fees from the court are then added to this amount. No points will be assessed for GDL restriction offenses though they do go on your driving record.

Since May 1, 2010, New Jersey GDL drivers have been subjected to the following restrictions:

  • May not operate a motor vehicle after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
  • May not use a hand-held or hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
  • Unless over age 21, GDL drivers may only drive with the following passengers:
    • Special Permit Holders:
      -Supervising driver who is over 21 and licensed to drive for at least three (3) years
      -Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s)
      -One additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
    • Examination Permit Holders
      -Supervising driver who is over 21 and licensed to drive for at least three (3) years
      -Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s)
      -One additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
    • Probationary (formerly Provisional) License Holder
      -Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s)
      -One additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

New Jersey law is so that failure to abide by any GDL restriction during operation of a vehicle by a learner's permit, an examination permit or probationary license holder, who is subject to the GDL requirements, is a violation subject to a $100 fine. See N.J.S.A. 39:3-13.8 for more information on these laws.

See if you qualify for discounts for teenagers when you purchase auto insurance after obtaining your driver's license.



Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "Citation for violating passenger restriction"