According to the TN Department of Safety failure to show proof of financial responsibility is a Class C misdemeanor. This type of offense comes with a penalty of a fine of not more than $100. Once the state is notified of a conviction for this offense the Department of Safety notes that the violator's driver's license will be suspended.
Also a stop will be placed against the uninsured vehicle's registration. If financial responsibility can be shown prior to the court date though the car owner might be able to get the charges dismissed. The driver will need to submit proof of Financial Responsibility again to the TN Financial Responsibility Division before their registration is renewed.
As you should be aware Tennessee state law requires minimum Bodily Injury Liability limits of $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and Property Damage Liability coverage with a minimum limit of $15,000. This basic coverage is often referred to as 25/50/15 coverage.
If your license is suspended due to driving without insurance in TN you can be required to file a SR-22. A SR-22 form is proof of future financial responsibility as required under Tennessee Code Annotated 55-12-114. The form must be filed by an insurance company licensed through the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance to issue motor vehicle liability insurance coverage in Tennessee.
A SR-22 can be required for a total of five (5) years from your date of suspension. If the SR-22 is filed for a total of three (3) years (36 months) within the five (5) year period, the SR-22 may be cancelled provided it is not required on any other suspension. If 5 years pass from the date of suspension before you reinstate your privileges, then the SR-22 would not be required. If the SR-22 is cancelled before the required time and a new form is not filed, your driving privileges will be suspended
Contact CarInsurance.com for inexpensive car insurance quotes if you have a vehicle that is not covered by TN auto insurance.